Book Review – How To Fall In Love

by Cecelia Ahern
Started: 1st July 2014
Finished: 1st July 2014

I first read a Cecelia Ahern novel a few years ago with The Book Of Tomorrow and loved it. It hasn’t been a conscious decision to not read another for so long, it just never came up. This novel caught my eye not long after I read Jojo Moye’s Me Before You and I knew I just had to read it.

The novel starts with the protagonist Christine witnessing a man shooting himself. This, as you’d expect, changes her life. However unfortunately this isn’t her last dealing with a suicidal man. She meets Adam and this time he gives life a chance – he gives Christine a deadline of his 35th birthday (two weeks) to get him to change his mind and love his life. But with her own personal life to deal with (such as her bitter ex-husband Barry) can she manage it?

With a book with a subject like this it’s vital to have good and likeable characters. Christine works in recruitment but acts as a kind of therapist to her clients – especially Oscar (which I thought was a great scene to introduce yet in her working environment). She strives to help people and as you carry on reading, you learn about her past which explains why she has this need. However she has an unhealthy obsession with self-help guides. I absolutely adored Adam and his dry sense of humour. I also loved hearing about fun stories from his relationship to Maria. Even though I didn’t like Barry, I found myself curious as to what voicemail he’d leave next or what he’d do next in general.

The plot itself was really interesting and I couldn’t stop reading it. I was just as interested in hearing about Christine’s life as Adam’s. There were some things that weren’t tied up which bugged me a little bit. Such as Amelia’s storyline. Also Sean never came up in person and if he was supposed to be Adam’s best friend, I thought he would make an appearance rather than just be mentioned.

As I said this subject can be difficult to approach. As it’s fiction I can understand how it may appear to be quite simple the way Christine is dealing with Adam. However Ahern still portrays the struggles as well as which I liked. In addition to this I liked the repetition of the fact that Christine isn’t a therapist and that Adam should seek professional help. Despite the heavy subject there are many light-hearted and sweet moments.
Overall I did really enjoy the novel and the ending is never really certain. I am going to look more into Cecelia Ahern books in the future.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

