Book Review – The Professor

by Charlotte Bronte
Started: 2nd July 2014
Finished: 3rd July 2014

I read and studied Jane Eyre and I really enjoyed it. The Professor was mentioned in passing in class and I just had to look it up. It sounded interesting so I decided to try it.

The novel focuses on William Crimsworth trying to figure out what to do with his life after cutting his uncles off. After failing as a tradesman he decides to go to Belgium where he gets the position of a teacher. Whilst there he falls for one of his 19-year-old students.

While he basic plot of the novel is good, it doesn’t really feel as though anything really happens. It’s because of this I found myself racing through it to finish it rather than because I was enjoying it. Although there was the occasional scene that I liked.

William was an interesting character but there was nothing really about him that made him memorable. I quite liked Frances however I felt I couldn’t connect with her relationship with William or even enjoy it. There are many times throughout the novel where they speak to each other, and other characters in French. Where no translation is offered these interactions were lost on me as I’ve never really studied the language. When there is a reply in English you can piece things together but not much.

The pacing was fairly slow and I continued with the novel in the hope I would come across something interesting in the plot. However I did like seeing William beginning to teach and how Bronte writes a male lead.

I would probably only read this novel again if I was studying it I think. I’m quite disappointed with this when I compare it to Jane Eyre. But perhaps, I’m not in the right frame of mind to enjoy it right now.

Rating: 2/5

Leave a Reply

