Book Review – The Longest Holiday

by Paige Toon
Started: 10th July 2014
Finished: 11th July 2014

Paige Toon is one of my favourite chick lit authors ever since I read Johnny Be Good. So when I was offered another free ebook by Galaxy and saw this as one of the options, I knew I just had to have it as she’s never let me down in the past.

Laura has married the love of her life, Matthew, but seven months into the marriage her world is torn apart. He slept with someone else on his stag do, a week before the wedding. And to make matters worse, he got her pregnant. Laura’s best friend Marty and Bridget (Marty’s good friend but only since university) whisk her away to Key West in Florida to get away from it all for two weeks. It was the break she needed… But she needs more and with handsome Leo showing signs of interest, she doesn’t want the two weeks to ever end.

I really liked Laura and the way she tried to deal with everything. I think if I were her I would have reacted in the same way, although there are times I would have been much more stubborn! Laura is really likeable and you root for her and her decisions throughout the whole novel – at least I did. I liked Marty for the most part but there were times when it didn’t feel like she was considering Laura at all and what she wanted. The way Matthew fought for Laura was nice to see too, even though you couldn’t help but dislike him for what he did to her. I loved Leo and his family and thought they added nice touches to the novel – they were very humorous at times.

Toon’s writing seems to have stayed the same since I first discovered her, which is great because it’s a nice style to read and very easy to get on with. The chapters are short for the most part which is great but so easy to keep saying to yourself ‘just one more chapter’ – when really you’re meant to be going out or going to bed.

The plot is great, there’s a lot of fun and drama to keep you turning the pages (particularly when people from home started showing up more). I loved where the book was going and the shock you get towards the end. However, I didn’t like the rather abrupt epilogue. Now, I can’t say too much without giving things away but I didn’t enjoy it. It did seem like the book was wrapped up too quickly and too easily. There are things we’re told in the epilogue I would have liked to be shown instead. Personally, I feel that there is enough potential there for the novel to have finished without the epilogue and there to be a sequel. But I appreciate it’s much easier to criticise and say this than actually do it.

The Longest Holiday is pretty much a perfect holiday read and a must have for the hand luggage if you are indeed going away. It has reminded me of my love for Toon and eager to get more!

Rating: 4/5

One thought on “Book Review – The Longest Holiday

Leave a Reply

