Book Review – Dispatches from the Dating Zone

By K.T Valentine
Started: 7th September 2014
Finished: 7th September 2014

It has been too long since I last read a chick lit novel, so it was a nice break inbetween university books. Thank you to K.T Valentine for sending me a copy to review!

Fleur Summers has recently become a divorced single mother of an inquisitive young boy (Tobey). As her own search for a man has been unsuccessful she turns to those closest to her to set her up on a date. Cue string of horrendous matches that leaves Fleur wondering what were her family and friends thinking? Just as she starts to think she may have to settle for someone without the full package, she stumbles across one last possible candidate…

Fleur felt like a typical chick lit protagonist. I found her very likeable, she wasn’t perfect and had her flaws but there was something about her I liked. I adored her son Tobey, he had many funny moments. He has many questions that only a child could get away with asking. Sometimes children can get forgotten as the plot thickens but Tobey remained constant, whether he was making a full appearance or just mentioned briefly. I also quite liked her straight-talking sister Jack, there were a few times where that was needed. One character who I couldn’t get on with was Leanne. In the beginning I didn’t mind her but as the story progressed she began to irritate me (especially with how she behaved with what was happening in her own personal life).

The plot was easy going and fairly predictable, however that didn’t make the book any less enjoyable for me. There are a few sub-plots of sorts to keep the novel interesting. I really loved seeing Fleur on the disastrous dates. For me the most memorable had to be the ‘Pink Panty Prawn’ incident – I just couldn’t stop laughing! As much as I didn’t like Leanne, I was very interested in her dilemma with her husband and I was very eager to see how that would pan out. I must admit, there was something that I didn’t see coming, regarding the ‘Wicked Witches’ of the playground – so keep an eye out for that!

The novel is split up into many short chapters which was one of the reasons I finished this novel so quickly. Although, for me, sometimes the chapters were too short and would have worked along with another chapter. It’s because of the chapter lengths that I found there were times when scenes were cut short rather than being played out, leaving things abruptly only to then mention how that scene ended in the next chapter through conversation. Sometimes it worked as it made more sense hearing it through conversation than reading it directly, but other times I just really wanted to see what happened.

I’m pleased with the decision that Fleur finally made for herself, although I would have liked to have seen these two characters more together to completely validate why she made that choice (it’s pretty clear to see already – I just love detail). I’m also very pleased that I was given the opportunity to read this book, as it was just the comedy I needed before I move onto the next item on my uni reading list…

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

