Book Review – The Proposal

By Tasmina Perry

Started: 13th September 2014

Finished: 15th September 2014

I have wanted to read something by Tasmina Perry for a while, but for some reason I’ve just never managed to read any of her work. Thanks to bookbridgr I have finally been able to!

In The Proposal there are two protagonists and two stories. There is the story of Amy Carrel in 2012, her life isn’t going the way she had planned it so, when the opportunity arises to go back to New York for Christmas she jumps at the chance. The only catch is that she has to be the companion for Georgia Hamilton, whose life in the 1950s is shown to us throughout the book, who is alone for the holiday season.

Both the protagonists had interesting stories, however I found Georgia the more likeable and fascinating character. I especially liked her in the segments set in 1958, she just had a fire about her but at the same time she had an innocence about her where relationships are concerned. I just really wanted her to succeed even though you know from the start things didn’t turn out the way she had hoped (although you have no idea why until the end). I liked Amy for different reasons, mainly because I felt sorry for her for constantly being made to feel like she isn’t good enough. As for the minor characters I did like Sally Daly, she just felt like a breath of fresh air for Georgia and they worked well with each other. Also, even though we only saw brief appearances of Will Hamilton I really liked his character and I would have liked to have seen more of him.

Sometimes having two different plots can seem disjointed and feel like they’re clashing. However you begin to realise, from conversations taking place in 2012, that we are being exposed to the events of 1958 because Georgia is telling Amy about them. I think this is a great way to do this as, if we were told these things through conversation rather than seeing them ourselves, I don’t think we would be able to build the relationship we do with Georgia (or would fully understand her). I loved both of the plots and could happily have read a novel with it just being set in 1958 as the Season really interested me.

One of the problems I had with the novel was the ending. Not necessarily the content of the ending, I found that everything was wrapped up, but it was rather abrupt. Throughout the novel there was a slow build towards the secret as to why Georgia doesn’t talk to her family, which is revealed at the end with any loose ends tied up. However when you’re told this big secret everything that happens after that happens very quickly, and then suddenly it’s the end of the novel. I would have liked an epilogue just to kind of round things off and see the effect of the secret coming out. Also just to see what happened with Amy, you can easily assume what happened for her in the end, but it would have been nice to see it.

All in all I really loved this book. I’m pleased that I’ve finally got round to reading something by Tasmina Perry, and I will definitely be checking out some of her other books in the future. Once again, huge thanks to bookbridgr for sending me a copy of this novel.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

