My Second Year – Week Three

Despite still not being 100% I was back at uni this week. On the Monday I got to hear some students talk about their placement year, which was interesting, I wish I could get started but I just don’t know where to start. I’ve got a meeting with the person dealing with it for a couple of weeks time as it was the earliest I could get – so hopefully I’ll be able to get on it soon.

We discussed some interesting texts this week (Carol, The Wasp Factory, Doctor Faustus…), which was good. The discussions took some very strange turns, but it was great. I was also given some essay questions for the essay due in on the 17th November. I’m quite confident with my plan; just need to research some critics to add in and I think I can get started. Going to see my tutor first though – don’t want to start it and find that I’ve gone the wrong way in answering the question! But I am looking forward to just getting stuck in, whilst I’m waiting I’m just collecting quotes so I can start writing it sooner.

Unfortunately I had to miss my Friday seminar as for the last part of the week I was coughing so violently I’ve done something to my ribs. It reached the point where I was awake from 3am just in pain but not being able to move to do anything about it. I had to have my Aunt come and collect me again as I just didn’t know what to do. As I’m typing this it hasn’t got much better, but I’m learning to deal with it more and how far I can push it. Hopefully by the time this post goes up it should be much better!

Not strictly to do with uni but it was a pretty big part of my week, two trailers caught my eye. One was for Broadway’s Of Mice and Men with James Franco and Chris O’Dowd. I studied it for GCSE and loved it, so to see that it has been done as a play really interested me. I watched the trailer and it just looks fantastically done! I would never have thought to cast Chris O’Dowd as Lennie but from the brief clip you’re shown it really works! Can’t wait for the cinema release! And the other trailer was, of course, Avengers: Age of Ultron. It’s not something I’ve mentioned on the blog before but I am a huge Marvel geek. Just love it. So I was extremely excited when the trailer leaked early. The trailer (even though it was just a teaser) was just outstanding, it was so creepy and I just loved everything about it. Can’t wait to see it.

Rosie xxx

Leave a Reply

