Year 2 – Second Semester, Week One

This has been a very busy first week back for me! This semester I’m doing four new modules which are:

  • Contemporary Literature: Postcolonial Fiction
  • Radical Subjectivities
  • Modernism
  • Detective Fiction

I’m looking forward to all of the modules, but I’m especially excited for Modernism and Detective Fiction as they sound really interesting with some great looking texts too! I’m sure the other two will be just as interesting but it’s difficult to get a good idea about a module from the introductory lectures.

I’m trying to keep on top of my reading and read things in order so I’m currently, slowly, making my way through Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children whilst reading the odd poem and short story for other modules. As most of my texts for Detective Fiction are short stories I thought that instead of doing individual posts for them, I’m going to write shorter reviews for them and put them all in one post once I’ve read them all.

Although my contact/class hours have stayed the same, I have awkward breaks between some of them. This week I’ve been fairly productive in some of the gaps, so hopefully that’s something I can keep up throughout the semester!

This week though, some of the gaps or free time I’ve had after lectures have been filled with extra shifts at the bookshop. As it’s a new semester, there are new reading lists so it’s been very busy at the shop! I’ve really enjoyed it though as I’ve had more opportunities to learn how to do different jobs. It’s been a while since I’ve had to do certain things so it’s been nice to refresh my memory!

I’m curious to see what’s going to happen this semester, I can already tell it’s going to be a busy one! However I’m just relieved that I have more gaps between essay deadlines this time, so hopefully I won’t be as stressed out as last semester!

Rosie xxx

Leave a Reply

