Year 2 – Second Semester, Week Two

This week had an unusual start… I had an interview for my placement year. It was for a sales and marketing position in London. I was so nervous going to it but felt a lot better during the actual interview itself. The interview must have gone well as I was asked to complete a task (which I nearly missed the deadline for as my wifi decided to give up for the evening – thank God for the personal hotspot)! I woke up to an email the next morning saying I was neck-and-neck with another candidate and there would be one final challenge. Now I’m just waiting for their decision which I will get early next week! I really enjoyed doing the tasks they sent me and I love the sound of the job role so… fingers crossed!

As for my classes this week, nothing really interesting happened. My lecture and seminar discussion on Midnight’s Children made me consider the book in new ways. After learning some of Rushdie’s explanations and intentions it did make the book seem more interesting – but unfortunately it didn’t read like that. When we lost wifi during the week I decided that it was a sign that I should probably start a new book, so I did! Another novel for my Postcolonial Fictions – A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry. I’m (as I’m writing this) barely 100 pages in and I’m loving it already! I’m really excited to see where it goes. Although I was really tired for my lectures this week, I really enjoyed them as I had some great lecturers. Luckily, I haven’t experienced any bad lecturers on my course and this week you could tell they were talking about things they were passionate about. And if they weren’t, well, they must just be really interesting speakers.

I only had one shift at the bookshop this week – the craziness seems to have died down somewhat. Which I actually quite liked this week as I was just so exhausted by Tuesday… Hopefully I’ll feel more refreshed after this weekend and get a lot more reading done!

We (my housemates and I) received an email from one of our landlords this week, telling us that the house is being advertised to students for next year. It’s really weird how fast this has come around! It feels like it was only yesterday when we were stressing about a house situation and eventually signing a tenancy agreement last year (which was also the night that resulted in a fun trip to A&E after I fell on our walk back to campus). It’s quite scary to think about how quickly it’s gone! I hope any first years that may be reading this are successful in their house hunt for next year!

Rosie xxx

Leave a Reply

