Y2 – Second Semester, Week Three

This week didn’t start the way I thought it would. Instead of being told whether I got the placement or not, they emailed me saying that after speaking to my university they’ve decided to wait to give me their decision. That way they can be clear with what the exact roles will be in the position and who would be best suited for it out of myself and the other candidate. So I’m still in with a chance, I just have a longer wait.

In Modernism this week we were analysing Modernist/Imagist poetry which I had a lot of fun with. As the poems we were looking at were only a couple of lines long we were really picking apart each word, which lead to some odd but funny discussions! Also this week we were given the texts to give presentations on – another girl and I have Nella Larsen’s Passing. We’re really happy with that as we studied it last semester in the American Lit module.

On a Wednesday I have 9-10 seminar and I normally have the rest of the day off. This week I had work so finished at 1:30 instead, which still gave me the rest of the day to myself! As I hadn’t finished A Fine Balance for my Thursday seminar, I spent my whole afternoon (and early evening) reading it. It’s been a while since I’ve done nothing except read and it was an even better feeling as I caught up with my reading for the week!

Friday was the best day of the week for me. We all got our exam results back! There was one mark I wasn’t totally happy with but I didn’t feel that exam went well anyway. Overall I finished with two 2:1’s (in American Lit and Romanticism) and two 1:1’s (in Gender & Sexuality and Constructing the Self). This Friday was also the first week in a while I’ve got the train home. On my last train home I bumped into a friend I’ve not spoken to in years. It was so nice to catch up with him and hear about how other people are getting on, who I’ve also not seen in a while! I also saw another friend for the first time since A-Levels and got to have a quick chat with her. It was just a really nice way to end the week!

Rosie xxx

Leave a Reply

