Book Review – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

by Agatha Christie

Started: 12th March 2015

Finished: 12th March 2015

Ever since I saw this book on my Detective Fiction reading list, I was really excited to read it. I’ve never read anything by Agatha Christie but I have seen some TV adaptations in the past which I quite enjoyed. This novella was both what I was expecting and surprising at the same time.

The novella opens with the death of Mrs. Ferrars, a year after the death of her husband. Dr. Shepherd’s sister Caroline believes something much more suspicious has happened. Quickly after Mrs. Ferrars death, Roger Ackroyd is also found dead in his home – thinking someone more specialized needs to come in and discover the truth they turn to M. Poirot for help.

As with most Detective Fiction stories there are multiple characters, however it is very easy to keep up with all of them and you can still form attachments to them, despite there being so many in such a short space of time. Dr. Shepherd is a very interesting narrator and I like what he brings to the story. However, I must admit, I preferred his sister Caroline. I really loved her personality and the fact she just seemed to know everything without even leaving her house. I’ve never really encountered Poirot before and he wasn’t what I expected – I liked him a lot more than I thought I would. He just has this quality about him, a somewhat sassy nature but with an unnerving ‘catchphrase’ of “I know everything.”

Like all good Detective Fiction stories, Christie is great at keeping the truth from the reading until the very end of the novella. However, I’m undecided on how I feel about the ending. A part of me enjoyed it, and certainly wasn’t expecting it, but at the same time I don’t know how well it fit… It may fit together more upon re-reading it when you know what you’re looking for but for a first read, I don’t know how suitable it is.

I’m not too sure what else I can say without giving too much away and spoiling it. It’s easy to read and follow so if you don’t know where to start when getting into Detective Fiction, this would be a great introduction.

Rating: 3.5/5

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

Leave a Reply

