Book Review – More Than This

by Patrick Ness

Started: 5th July 2015

Finished: 8th July 2015

This book caught my attention some time last year but I just never got a chance to read it with university. Although, I feel if I did read it last year when I initially wanted to, I still wouldn’t be over it now! This is truly a novel that sticks with you and leaves you looking for answers.

The novel starts with Seth, a 17-year-old boy, drowning and waking up in an unusually familiar place, but something isn’t right. He spends the rest of the novel trying to figure out exactly where he is and what happened to him.

There’s not a great deal I can say about the plot as I don’t want to give anything away. This novel is definitely one best experienced without knowing anything beforehand. There are so many questions this book poses, right up until the final page. Some may find this frustrating, I know I certainly didn’t know what to do with myself after the ending. Every time something seemed to be explained it just made you realise there was still a lot of things you didn’t know. Personally, I loved this and it’s because of this I read about 75% of it in one go. Ness has the great ability to keep you reading. There were many times where I felt uneasy and on edge reading this. He created a great atmosphere and really captured the sense of loneliness. I found myself tearing up and feeling anger on a characters behalf more than once in the book.

I really like that there was a small number of characters in the book – many of which are shown to the reader in flashbacks and memories. I also thought this was the best way to learn about the protagonist, who I grew to really like. Once again there isn’t a great deal that I can say about the characters, but I will say that I really liked Regine and Tomasz. In fact, Tomasz was my favourite character in the novel and even brought some occasional humour to the novel.

More Than This is fairly long but I could have easily have read more. For me, the pages flew by which is great as I was slightly concerned at the beginning that the novel could become repetitive. However that wasn’t the case and new things just kept getting thrown at the reader. New questions were posed at every turn and you find yourself unable to stop reading as you want to know if the question will ever be answered.

There’s so much I want to say about this novel but feel that I can’t in case I spoil it for someone else. This is a book that must be read. It is one of the most wonderfully frustrating books I’ve read for a while and I loved everything about it. I would love there to be a sequel one day, but at the same time I can’t imagine any other ending for the story. I definitely recommend this book and would love to read more of Ness’ work in the future.

Rating: 5/5

3 thoughts on “Book Review – More Than This

Leave a Reply

