Looking back on 2015 and moving forward to 2016

Looking Back

Firstly I’d like to thank you all for your support throughout 2015 with my strange irregular posting and even silence at times. 2015 has been a rather odd year for me, a lot of changes going from student life to a work placement which slowed down my reading a lot more than I was expecting. Adjusting to a work life routine was quite difficult and I often too tired from the commute to be motivated to do anything. That’s something I’m looking to change, but will come onto that later, first I want to do a quick roundup of my 2015 in books!

First book read: Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
Last book read: Shtum by Jem Lester

Favourite books:

Favourite University books:

  • A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry
  • Six Characters in Search of an Author by Luigi Pirandello
  • Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
  • The Laughing Policeman by Maj Sjöwall & Per Wahlöö

Unfortunately I didn’t meet my 2015 goal of reading 40 books, however I did come close. Therefore my 2016 goal will also be 40 books! Which brings me to other goals I have for 2016 in regards to books and blogging.

Life in 2016…
I aim to read for at least an hour a day. I say only an hour because there’s a strong chance that if I’m thoroughly enjoying the book the hour will quickly become two, or three or four. I will spend January getting into a good blogging schedule with the aim of one review a week to get started. I would also very much like to get more involved in the blogging community, any tips or advice for this would be greatly appreciated.

University posts may be different, I may not try and review every book I read as I doubt I will have the time as it’s my final year. I will review books that really stand out to me for whatever reason. However we’ll cross that bridge when we eventually come back to it.

For now I have a few more general life goals in order to bring more of a routine to restore a good work/life balance which I’m hoping will also motivate me to blog more.

Do you guys have any goals for blogging or anything else in 2016?

Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

