Book Review – The Deviants

by C.J Skuse
Started: 15 September 2016
Finished: 15 September 2016

Firstly, huge thank you to HarperCollins and Harlequin for sending me a review copy of The Deviants. When I first started the book I wasn’t sure if it was going to be as good as I was expecting, however I ended up devouring the novel and loving every page of it.

The novel follows Ella, a member of the fearless five and Commonwealth 400m hopeful, as she recounts events of rage and revenge of one fateful summer. As the novel unravels you begin to learn of other secrets that haunt the fearless five. Why won’t Ella return to the island where they had fun as children and was Jessica’s death really just an accident?

For the first few chapters I didn’t find Ella likeable. However that quickly changed as the novel continued and you begin to understand her through opening up to her coach (albeit not giving away much, but just enough for you to feel for her) and her, rather extreme, actions to protect her friends. Ella is certainly someone you don’t want to get on the wrong side of as she is as creative as she is angry. I also loved Fallon and Corey, I thought they were really interesting characters to have in the fearless five group, you can see why Ella feels the need to help and protect them. I was conflicted with my feelings for Max, although you can argue his heart was in the right place most of the time, he was pretty clueless as to how to show that. I felt that all the characters were complex and were needed in the novel, even if they don’t necessarily feel like it at first.

I thought the plot was well developed despite the slightly slow start. Once you get used to how the story is being told, and are introduced to Ella, the plot is very gripping and well paced. There are many surprises in the novel, some are gradually revealed to you and others hit you suddenly. I thought this was great as you never quite know if you know everything you need to or if there are more twists to come. For a while I wasn’t quite sure how everything was going to come together, or really the significance of everything but that’s one of the reasons that made me unable to put this book down. I was eager to see what was going to happen next.

This novel was incredibly well written, I was emotionally invested in this book on a completely different level. There were so many points in the novel where I could feel Ella’s rage myself and wanted to just jump in and give certain characters a piece of my mind. I was really rooting for her, well the whole fearless five, and wanted them all to have the ending they deserved. Towards the end of the novel my heart was racing as the climax became even more intense, only to be left in shock by the final chapters. I don’t want to give the ending away at all, however I will say I had to put the book down for several minutes before finally completing the book.

Overall, The Deviants is a fantastic novel, which left me shocked and speechless. It’s definitely one I would recommend everyone reads! Looking back it’s difficult to imagine I ever had doubts at the beginning of the novel, as it is easily one of my favourite books of this year.

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

